# **COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2022/87**

#### of 17 January 2022

# appointing four members, proposed by the Italian Republic, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (¹),

Having regard to the proposal of the Italian Government,

#### Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.
- (2) On 10 December 2019, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2019/2157 (²), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025.
- (3) Four members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the resignation of Mr Matteo Luigi BIANCHI and the end of the national mandates on the basis of which Ms Arianna Maria CENSI, Mr Virginio MEROLA and Ms Virginia RAGGI were proposed for appointment.
- (4) The Italian Government has proposed the following representatives of local bodies who hold a new local authority electoral mandate as members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025: Matteo Luigi BIANCHI, Consigliere del Comune di Varese (Member of the Local Assembly of Varese), Ms Arianna Maria CENSI, Assessore del Comune di Milano (Member of the Local Executive of Milan) and Ms Virginia RAGGI, Consigliere del Comune di Roma (Member of the Local Assembly of Rome).
- (5) The Italian Government has proposed Mr Dario NARDELLA, representative of a local body who holds a local authority electoral mandate until 25 May 2024, Sindaco del Comune di Firenze (Mayor of Florence) as a member of the Committee of the Regions until that date.

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

### Article 1

The following representatives of local bodies who hold an electoral mandate are hereby appointed as members of the Committee of the Regions:

— Mr Matteo Luigi BIANCHI, Consigliere del Comune di Varese (Member of the Local Assembly of Varese), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,

<sup>(1)</sup> OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

<sup>(2)</sup> Council Decision (EU) 2019/2157 of 10 December 2019 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 327, 17.12.2019, p. 78).

EN

- Ms Arianna Maria CENSI, Assessore del Comune di Milano (Member of the Local Executive of Milan), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,
- Mr Dario NARDELLA, Sindaco del Comune di Firenze (Mayor of Florence) until 25 May 2024,
- Ms Virginia RAGGI, Consigliere del Comune di Roma (Member of the Local Assembly of Rome), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 17 January 2022.

For the Council The President J. DENORMANDIE