COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2021/1988

of 9 November 2021

appointing a member, proposed by the Federal Republic of Germany, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (¹),

Having regard to the proposal of the German Government,

Whereas

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.
- (2) On 10 December 2019, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2019/2157 (²), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025.
- (3) A member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the end of the mandate on the basis of which Mr Guido WOLF was proposed for appointment.
- (4) The German Government has proposed Mr Florian HASSLER, representative of a regional or local body who is politically accountable to an elected assembly, *Staatssekretär für politische Koordinierung und Europa im Staatsministerium Baden-Württemberg* (State Secretary for Political Coordination and Europe in the State Ministry of Baden-Württemberg), as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Mr Florian HASSLER, representative of a regional or local body who is politically accountable to an elected assembly, Staatssekretär für politische Koordinierung und Europa im Staatsministerium Baden-Württemberg (State Secretary for Political Coordination and Europe in the State Ministry of Baden-Wurttemberg), is hereby appointed as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 9 November 2021.

For the Council The President A. ŠIRCELJ

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

⁽²⁾ Council Decision (EU) 2019/2157 of 10 December 2019 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 327, 17.12.2019, p. 78).