# DECISIONS

### COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2021/1834

## of 6 October 2021

## appointing six members and four alternate members, proposed by the Italian Republic, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (<sup>1</sup>),

Having regard to the proposals of the Italian Government,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly,
- (2) On 20 January 2020, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2020/102 (<sup>2</sup>), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025. On 19 May 2020, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2020/682 (<sup>3</sup>), appointing an alternate member, proposed by the Italian Republic, of the Committee of the Regions. On 7 December 2020, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2020/2076 (<sup>4</sup>) appointing two alternate members, proposed by the Italian Regions,
- (3) Six members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the resignation of Massimiliano FEDRIGA, Mr Christian SOLINAS and Mr Donato TOMA and the end of the national mandate on the basis of which Ms Manuela BORA, Mr Enrico ROSSI and Ms Alessandra SARTORE were proposed for appointment,
- (4) Four alternate members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the resignation of Mr Vincenzo DE LUCA, Mr Domenico GIANNETTA and Mr Arno KOMPATSCHER and the end of the national mandate on the basis of which Mr Pierluigi MARQUIS was proposed for appointment,
- (5) The Italian Government has proposed the following representatives of regional bodies who hold a regional authority electoral mandate as members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025: Mr Guido CASTELLI, Assessore della Regione Marche (Regional Minister of the Marche Region), Mr Michele EMILIANO, Presidente della Regione Puglia (President of the Puglia Region) and Mr Eugenio GIANI, Presidente della Regione Toscana (President of the Toscana Region),

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>) OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

<sup>(2)</sup> Council Decision (EU) 2020/102 of 20 January 2020 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 20, 24.1.2020, p. 2).

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>) Council Decision (EU) 2020/682 of 19 May 2020 appointing an alternate member, proposed by the Italian Republic, of the Committee of the Regions (OJ L 161, 25.5.2020, p. 9).

<sup>(\*)</sup> Council Decision (EU) 2020/2076 of 7 December 2020 appointing two alternate members, proposed by the Italian Republic, of the Committee of the Regions (OJ L 424, 15.12.2020, p. 55).

- (6) The Italian Government has proposed Mr Nicola CAPUTO, representative of a regional body who is politically accountable to an elected assembly, *Assessore della Regione Campania* (Regional Minister of the Campania Region) as an alternate member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,
- (7) The Italian Government has proposed Mr Luciano Emilio CAVERI, representative of a regional body who holds a regional authority electoral mandate, Assessore e Consigliere della Regione autonoma Valle d'Aosta (Regional Minister and Councillor of the Autonomous Region of Valle d'Aosta) as an alternate member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,
- (8) The Italian Government has proposed Mr Arno KOMPATSCHER, representative of a regional body who holds a regional authority electoral mandate, *Consigliere della Provincia autonoma di Bolzano Presidente della Regione Trentino Alto-Adige e della Provincia autonoma di Bolzano* (Councillor of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano President of the Trentino Alto-Adige Region and of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano), as a member of the Committee of the Regions until 31 October 2023.
- (9) The Italian Government has proposed Mr Christian SOLINAS, representative of a regional body who holds a regional authority electoral mandate, *Presidente della Regione Sardegna* (President of the Sardegna Region), as an alternate member of the Committee of the Regions until 28 February 2024,
- (10) The Italian Government has proposed Ms Donatella TESEI, representative of a regional body who holds a regional authority electoral mandate, *Presidente della Regione Umbria* (President of the Umbria Region), as a member of the Committee of the Regions until 31 October 2024,
- (11) The Italian Government has proposed Mr Donato TOMA, representative of a regional body who holds a regional authority electoral mandate, *Presidente della Regione Molise* (President of the Molise Region), as an alternate member of the Committee of the Regions until 30 April 2023,
- (12) The Italian Government has proposed Mr Nicola ZINGARETTI, representative of a regional body who holds a regional authority electoral mandate, *Presidente della Regione Lazio* (President of Lazio Region), as a member of the Committee of the Regions until 31 March 2023,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

#### Article 1

The following representatives of regional or local bodies who hold an electoral mandate or who are politically accountable to an elected assembly are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions:

- (a) as members:
  - Mr Guido CASTELLI, Assessore della Regione Marche (Regional Minister of the Marche Region), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,
  - Mr Michele EMILIANO, Presidente della Regione Puglia (President of Puglia Region), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,
  - Mr Eugenio GIANI, Presidente della Regione Toscana (President of the Toscana Region), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,

- Mr Arno KOMPATSCHER, Consigliere della Provincia autonoma di Bolzano Presidente della Regione Trentino Alto-Adige e della Provincia autonoma di Bolzano (Councilor of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano – President of the Trentino Alto-Adige Region and of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano) (change of mandate), until 31 October 2023,
- Ms Donatella TESEI, Presidente della Regione Umbria (President of the Umbria Region), until 31 October 2024,
- Mr Nicola ZINGARETTI, Presidente della Regione Lazio (President of Lazio Region), until 31 March 2023,

and

- (b) as alternate members:
  - Mr Nicola CAPUTO, Assessore della Regione Campania (Regional Minister of the Campania Region), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,
  - Mr Luciano Emilio CAVERI, Assessore e Consigliere della Regione autonoma Valle d'Aosta (Regional Minister and Councilor of the Autonomous Region of Valle d'Aosta), for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,
  - Mr Christian SOLINAS, Presidente della Regione Sardegna (President of the Sardegna Region), until 28 February 2024 (change of mandate),
  - Mr Donato TOMA, Presidente della Regione Molise (President of the Molise Region) until 30 April 2023 (change of mandate).

#### Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 6 October 2021.

For the Council The President A. VIZJAK