COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2021/878

of 26 May 2021

appointing a member, proposed by the Federal Republic of Germany, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (¹),

Having regard to the proposal from the German Government,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.
- (2) On 10 December 2019, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2019/2157 (²), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025.
- (3) A member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the resignation of Mr Florian HERRMANN.
- (4) The German government has proposed Ms Melanie HUML, representative of a regional executive body who holds an electoral mandate (*Staatsministerin*, *Bayerische Staatsregierung*), as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Ms Melanie HUML, representative of a regional executive body who holds an electoral mandate (*Staatsministerin, Bayerische Staatsregierung*) is hereby appointed as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 26 May 2021.

For the Council The President M. do C. ANTUNES

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

⁽²⁾ Council Decision (EU) 2019/2157 of 10 December 2019 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 327, 17.12.2019, p. 78).