# DECISIONS

#### COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2021/747

### of 3 May 2021

# appointing four members and nine alternate members, proposed by Romania, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (<sup>1</sup>),

Having regard to the proposals from the Romanian Government,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.
- (2) On 10 December 2019, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2019/2157 (<sup>2</sup>), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025. On 11 February 2021, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2021/172 (<sup>3</sup>), appointing a member and an alternate member, proposed by Romania, of the Committee of the Regions.
- (3) Four members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the end of the terms of office of Mr Decebal FĂGĂDĂU (Mayor of Constanța Municipality, Constanța County), Mr Victor MORARU (President of Ialomița County Council), Mr Ion PRIOTEASA (President of Dolj County Council) and Mr Marius Horia ȚUȚUIANU (President of Constanța County Council).
- (4) Nine alternate members' seats have become vacant following the end of the terms of office of Mr Ştefan ILIE (Mayor of Luncavița Commune, Tulcea County), Mr Emil Radu MOLDOVAN (President of Bistrița-Năsăud County Council), who has resigned, Mr Petre Emanoil NEAGU (President of Buzău County Council), who has resigned, Mr Cosmin NECULA (Mayor of Bacău Municipality, Bacău County), Mr Emilian OPREA (Mayor of Chitila City, Ilfov County), who has resigned, Mr Marian PETRACHE (President of Ilfov Countil), Mr Horia TEODORESCU (President of Tulcea County Council), who has resigned, Mr Mădălin Ady TEODOSESCU (Mayor of Balş City, Olt County) and Mr Bogdan Andrei TOADER (President of Prahova County Council).
- (5) The Romanian government has proposed Mr Daniel BĂLUȚĂ (Mayor of District 4, Bucharest Municipality), Mr Petre Emanoil NEAGU (President of Buzău County Council), Mr Alin-Adrian NICA (President of Timiş County Council) and Mr Corneliu ŞTEFAN (President of Dâmbovița County Council), all representatives of local or regional bodies with political accountability to an elected assembly, as members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.
- (6) The Romanian government has proposed Mr Ionel Ovidiu BOGDAN (President of Maramureş County Council), Mr Iustin-Marinel CIONCA-ARGHIR (President of Arad County Council), Ms Aurelia FEDORCA (Mayor of Negreşti Oaş, Satu Mare County), Mr Adrian Ionuţ GÂDEA (President of Teleorman County Council), Mr Dănuţ GROZA (Mayor of Sânnicolau Mare, Timiş County), Mr Florin Tiberiu IACOB-RIDZI (Mayor of Petroşani Municipality, Hunedoara County), Mr Ştefan ILIE (Mayor of Tulcea Municipality, Tulcea County), Mr Ion MÎNZÎNĂ (President of Argeş County Council) and

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>) OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>(2)</sup> OJ L 327, 17.12.2019, p. 78.

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>) OJ L 50, 15.2.2021, p. 7.

EN

Mr Dorin Cosmin VASILE (*President of Dolj County Council*), all representatives of local or regional bodies with political accountability to an elected assembly, as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

## Article 1

The following representatives of local or regional bodies with political accountability to an elected assembly are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025:

(a) as members:

- Mr Daniel BĂLUȚĂ, Mayor of District 4, Bucharest Municipality,
- Mr Petre Emanoil NEAGU, President of Buzău County Council,
- Mr Alin-Adrian NICA, President of Timiş County Council,
- Mr Corneliu ŞTEFAN, President of Dâmbovița County Council;

and

- (b) as alternate members:
  - Mr Ionel Ovidiu BOGDAN, President of Maramureş County Council,
  - Mr Iustin-Marinel CIONCA-ARGHIR, President of Arad County Council,
  - Ms Aurelia FEDORCA, Mayor of Negrești Oaș, Satu Mare County,
  - Mr Adrian Ionuț GÂDEA, President of Teleorman County Council,
  - Mr Dănuț GROZA, Mayor of Sânnicolau Mare, Timiş County,
  - Mr Florin Tiberiu IACOB-RIDZI, Mayor of Petroșani Municipality, Hunedoara County,
  - Mr Ștefan ILIE, Mayor of Tulcea Municipality, Tulcea County,
  - Mr Ion MÎNZÎNĂ, President of Argeş County Council,
  - Mr Dorin Cosmin VASILE, President of Dolj County Council.

## Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Brussels, 3 May 2021.

For the Council The President A. P. ZACARIAS